Cats Love Duck Food Too

Hello,

Today I learned a few lessons, one of which is that cats love duck food too. I was scooping the duck feed into buckets to keep it from attracting mice but didn’t realize that cats are a problem too. I learned this because I wasn’t finished filling the one bucket but had to go check on the ducklings so I left the lid off. I figured a few minutes away should not be an issue. I came back a few minutes later to find my one cat with paws in the feed and chomping away at the feed. I never expected that. I should know better…. but I must have forgotten. I only remember our dogs wanting to eat the sheep grain but nothing about the cats and chicken feed. Well I won’t leave duck feed out in the open again. Lesson learned. lol I just hope my kitties tummy will be ok.

Here are a few updates of things that happened today.

I had to go out and check on them at around 4 am because I was having bad dreams that someone took them and hurt them. I also needed to check on the temperature to make sure it was still warm enough. I expect I will feel better if I check on them around the same time again tonight. I don’t want them to get cold.

The ducks look bigger already today than yesterday. 🙂 I can see now how they can be nearly the size of adults at 8 weeks old!

Sadly, I found out that they are still very afraid of me. I thought we had made some progress yesterday but maybe not. It doesn’t help that I scare them when I have to change their water and give them more food. Otherwise, it may go better to help them know I am not a threat. I have read that talking to them really helps them get to know you. I am considering reading a book out loud to them that I want to read anyways. They can hear my voice and I can get through more books. 🙂 It’s a win win! 🙂

They make their water dirty so fast. I changed it at least 3 times today. I expected as much. I am using a chicken Waterer and I decided to not fill the top part and just put water in the bottom part. I have to keep changing it so there is no point filling it more than necessary. I leave the top part on so that they do not walk through the water as much. I am hoping to be able to make changes as they get bigger so that it makes less mess.

The smallest little duckling is still so tiny and falling behind. But we saw her eating and drinking so we are sure she has something in her tummy at least. I wish I could help her but picking her up will just scare her so I have to let her find it on her own for now? I will intervene if she isn’t looking lively enough though.

The one male has his legs going out sideways and he can not walk very well. I had hoped it would improve today but it hasn’t. There is a remedy in the book “Storey’s Guide to Raising Ducks” where you tie the legs together with string so they can not go out sideways. I am hesitant to do that because I worry about causing more harm than good. But I may have to do something because it will hurt him if I just leave it be I think. So that is on the agenda for tomorrow I think. Wish me luck. 🙂

Today has been a very long day and I am expecting tomorrow to be more of the same. I should get proper sleep so I am not really tired tomorrow. So good night and thanks for reading my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

