Welcome!

Hello,

Welcome to my (public) diary about my adventures in raising ducks! This has been in the works for a little while now and the ducklings are supposed to be born on May 4th and arrive here on May 6th as long as everything goes as planned. 🙂

This is the first time I have attempted to raise ducks so it makes me both excited and nervous. I have raised many animals before, but never ducks. I don’t want to screw up and hurt the sweet baby ducklings. I have done a ton of reading and learning and I think it sounds pretty straight forward. 🙂 But we shall see. Raising animals doesn’t always go as planned.

I decided to raise ducks because I learned how much healthier their eggs are than Chicken eggs first of all. Once I learned that, I decided to see if raising ducks was something that I might be able to do or even want to do. I have always loved wild ducks but never thought about raising them.

After much research, I found out that the breed I really wanted to raise was the Welsh Harlequin. Trouble was that they are considered a rare breed and finding some was no small feet! I finally found a place called Quack Me Up Ducks in Creston BC and I emailed with Jessica (one of the 2 owners) who was absolutely amazing in answering me back and helping me with any questions that I had. I am so glad I found them and I can raise Welsh Harlequins like I had wanted to. I hope I can share a bit of a profile on this interesting breed in the next couple of days to let you know what makes them so good. 🙂

Thanks for visiting my new blog and I hope you come back and visit again!

Leave a Reply

